procrastination

The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied. ~Proverbs 13:4, ESV

I’m an awful procrastinator. It’s so difficult to be motivated to do something you don’t enjoy. Whether it’s getting up early, writing a paper, or working a certain job, there are times you want to give up, regardless of consequences.

I’ll admit, I have hardly ever done my absolute best with schoolwork. But I have always somehow managed to secure good grades. Aware of my acute ability to “work the system” I put things off and do whatever I want to do first. Procrastination and apathy seem to devour me regularly. Together, I think they can be deadly. We procrastinate because we don’t care, and we don’t care because we can procrastinate another day.

We all pass through seasons of blindness to certain aspects of ourselves and our walks with the Lord. I am thankful to God that he has put this subject on my heart. These are dangerous mindsets that have the potential to take over other aspects of our lives too.

So how can we overcome selfish and immature attitudes toward our responsibilities? First we should pray to God for a renewed mind and desire to seek his will in everything. Tell the Lord about where you stumble and ask for his help. He will not reproach you for asking for his wisdom (James 1:5). Here are a few verses to meditate on:

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain. ~1 Corinthians 15:58

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is. ~Ephesians 5:15-17


2 thoughts on “procrastination

  1. Oh, I know everything about procrastination!!! I do some layout jobs, and right now have some music projects to prepare for. Fun stuff that I usually enjoy doing, but as soon as I HAVE to do it, I just do other things instead… I was the same with school.
    Good verses to remember!!!

Leave a comment